Jessica is an associate professor and curator of mammals at Texas A&M University. Jessica earned her PhD from Louisiana State University and she is broadly interested in evolutionary biology with a focus on systematics, population genetics, and coevolutionary associations between distantly related organisms, particularly mammals and their parasites. In general, her research relies on field work and Museum specimens, and she uses molecular and morphological data from recently collected and ancient specimens to help elucidate broad evolutionary processes operating in distantly related taxa. Learn more about Jessica here: https://www.jessicalight.org/

Dr. Jessica Light

President Elect

Cathy is a Professor of Biology at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, where she has taught since 2004. Mentored by Kenneth T. Wilkins, Cathy was the first student to complete a PhD in Biology at Baylor University; her dissertation was titled “Response of Small Mammals in Native Tallgrass Prairie to an Invasive Species, Red Imported Fire Ants.” She is most interested in behavioral ecology, especially in mammals and birds. Cathy teaches several field courses including Ornithology, Plant Taxonomy, and Natural History Expedition (which includes a 10-day trip to the Big Bend region of Texas). She also leads the freshman Biology day trip to Colorado Bend State park every semester. Most of her students are pre-health professions majors; however, she succeeds in developing their appreciation of the biodiversity in the natural world that exists outside of a clinical setting.

Dr. Cathy Early

Permanent Secretary

Lisa is the production editor and publications research associate at the Texas Tech Natural Sciences Research Laboratory. She is responsible for managing the publication of the NSRL Occasional Papers and Special Publications.

Lisa Bradley

Secretary Treasurer

Marcy works for the CDC in Atlanta where she manages the sample archives for long term storage and compliance.

Marcia Revelez


Michelle is a professor at the University of Central Oklahoma. Her research interests lie in mammalian population genetics and molecular systematics. She is interested in using genetic markers to address conservation and evolutionary questions, with most of her current research focusing on comparative hybrid zone studies and the identification of cryptic species. She also is interested in genomic drivers of the speciation process and local adaptations. She got her PhD from Texas Tech University.

Dr. Michelle Haynie

Please reload

Executive Committee

Past Presidents and Current Elected Officers

  • Loren Ammerman, Angelo State University

  • Amy Baird, University of Houston--Downtown

  • John Bickham, Texas A&M University

  • Lisa Bradley, Texas Tech University

  • Robert D. Bradley, Texas Tech University

  • Joel Brant, McMurry University

  • Guy N. Cameron, University of Cincinnati (Ohio)

  • Brian R. Chapman, Sam Houston State University

  • Scott Chirhart, Centenary College of Louisiana

  • Arthur G. Cleveland, California Baptist University

  • Robert C. Dowler, Angelo State University

  • Cathy N. Early, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

  • Herschel W. Garner, Tarleton State University

  • Ira F. Greenbaum, Texas A&M University

  • Michael Haiduk, Lamar University

  • Meredith Hamilton, Oklahoma State University

  • John Hanson, Columbus State University

  • Michelle L. Haynie, University of Central Oklahoma

  • Rodney Honeycutt, Pepperdine University

  • Jessica Light, Texas A&M University

  • Tom Lee, Abilene Christian University

  • Robert E. Martin, McMurry University

  • Russell Pfau, Tarleton State University

  • Carleton Phillips, Texas Tech University

  • Marcia Revelez, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • David Ribble, Trinity University

  • David J. Schmidly, University of New Mexico

  • Phil Sudman, Tarleton State University

  • Steven Smith, Humboldt State University

  • Richard Stevens, Texas Tech University

  • Michael Tewes, Texas A&M University - Kingsville

  • Monte Thies, Sam Houston State University

  • Ron Van Den Bussche, Oklahoma State University

  • Kenneth T. Wilkins, Baylor University

  • Earl G. Zimmerman, University of North Texas


Conservation Committee - Michael Tewes, Chair

Border Wall Resolution

Committee for Honorary Members - Phil Sudman, Chair

Committee for Student Honoraria - Cathy Early, Chair

Financial Advisory Committee - Phil Sudman, Chair

Ad hoc Auction Committee - Krysta Demere and Katie Kuzdak , Co-Chairs

Ad hoc Government Liason Committee - Michael Tewes Chair

Ad hoc Informatics Committee - Michelle Haynie, Chair